New University of Lisbon, Portugal, 5-9th of May, 2008


IFAAMAS Student Session

All students are cordially invited to participate in the Student Session of EASSS'08.

The Student Session, organised by students, is designed to encourage student interaction and feedback from the tutors. By providing the students with a conference-like setup, both in the presentation and in the review process, students have the opportunity to prepare their own submission, go through the selection process (peer review) and possibly present their work to each other and their interests to their fellow students as well as internationally leading experts in the agent field, both from the theoretical and the practical sector.

All submissions will be peer-reviewed and accepted paper submissions will be assigned a 15 minute slot for presentation on Wednesday evening. Typically a presentation will either detail the intended approach to a problem or ask a specific question, directed at the audience. In addition, all submission authors will be given the opportunity to present their work in form of a poster that will be displayed at a special room throughout the EASSS’08.

As the goal is to provide the speakers with constructive feedback and a means to be introduced to the community, the competitive elements often found in conferences (best paper award, best presentation award) are intentionally omitted. The peer review will focus not on the magnitude of the presented material but on the clarity of the formulated material or whether or not the posed question is of relevance to a majority of students. Giving a good presentation is a difficult task, practising it is the benefit of this session. The extend to which the audience has understood the details should be the criterion by which the presentations are judged.

Deadline for Submissions: 18th of April
Notification to authors: 25th of April
Student Session: 7th of May

Submissions should:
- be student work at student level.
- be up to 4 pages maximum (including figures, tables, bibliography, abstract etc.).
- clearly state the posed question or the proposed approach, as well as outline the problem at hand.
- state the author(s), their affiliation and their current status.
- give a few references to both the standard literature and specific relevant publications (possibly your own).
- be submitted via EasyChair by following this link:

PC Chair: Tobias Küster, Technische Universität Berlin, Germany (

Local Coordinator: Tina Balke, Universität Bayreuth, Germany (

Student Session Program Committee

Luis Antunes, Mehdi Dastani, Marina de Vos, Juergen Dix, Torsten Eymann, Nicola Gatti, Davide Grossi, Paul Harrenstein, Benjamin Hirsch, Wojciech Jamroga, João Leite, Guillaume Muller, Julian Padget, Mario Paolucci, Eric Platon, Jordi Sabater Mir, Laurent Vercouter, Leon van der Torre, Danny Weyns and Cees Witteveen.

Rakib Abdur, Andrea Addis, Suraj Ajit, Haris Aziz, Tina Balke, García-Montoro Carlos, Rutger Claes, Fabiano Dalpiaz, Pablo Lucas dos Anjos, Andrew Dowell, Edith Elkind, Angela Fabregues Vinent, Berndt Farwer, Thomas French, Feng Gu, Anthony Hepple, Hanno Hildmann, Sebastian Hudert, Harjot Kaur, Stefan König, Rama Chandra Kota, Benoit Lacroix, Christoph Niemann, Katia Potiron, Hongyang Qu, Xavier Rafael-Palou, Guillaume Ravilly-Abadie, Peer-Olaf Siebers, Robert Siegfried, Michal Sindlar, Martin Slota, Dmytro Tykhonov, Daniel Villatoro Segura, Iain Wallace and Chetan Yadati Narasimha.

Please feel free to email with any questions or suggestions regarding the student session.


The Student Session Proceedings are available here.